Minutes of Annual Meeting held on 28th June, 2013

Chair: Cllr. M. Fitzpatrick

Councillors: Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh, P. Millea, M. Shortall, J. Brennan, C. Connery, A.

McGuinness, J. Coonan, M. Brett, D. Fitzgerald, P. Cuddihy, M. Noonan, M. Doran, W. Ireland, T. Maher, P. Crowley, T. Prendergast, J. Moran, M. O' Brien, S. Treacy, E. Aylward, F. Doherty, C. Long, A.M. Irish, T. Breathnach, P.

Dunphy.

Officials: Joe Crockett, John Mulholland, John McCormack, Philip O' Neill and Anne

Maria Walsh.

Outgoing Chairman Address:-

Cllr. M. Fitzpatrick welcomed the members to the Annual Meeting of Kilkenny County Council. She expressed her thanks to the County Manager, all the elected members and staff for all their kindness, help and assistance to her throughout her year as Cathaoirleach.

She said that it was a very enjoyable year and hoped that she represented the County well both at home and abroad. Special tribute was paid to Cllr. M. Shortall Leas Cathaoirleach who was invaluable to her for attending a number of functions and for his advice throughout the year. It was a special honour for her to serve the people of Kilkenny as Cathaoirleach.

(i) Election of Cathaoirleach

Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh proposed Cllr. P. Dunphy as Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council for the ensuing year. She advised that Cllr. P. Dunphy has been a member of Kilkenny County Council for over 15 years and has been very active in the local communities. He also is very well known in GAA circles throughout the County. Cllr. T. Maher seconded the proposal and he stated that Cllr. Dunphy will do a first class job as first citizen of Kilkenny.

Cllr. E. Aylward proposed Cllr. M. Doran for Cathaoirleach and this was seconded by Cllr. A. McGuinness. On a point of clarification the proposer stated that Cllr. Doran consent was received as he was absent from the meeting.

A vote was taken as follows:-

Votes for Cllr. Dunphy – Cllrs. M. H. Cavanagh, M. Shortall, J. Brennan, C. Connery, M. Fitzpatrick, M. Brett, D. Fitzgerald, P. Cuddihy, M. Noonan, W. Ireland, T. Maher, P. Crowley, T. Prendergast, J. Moran, M. O' Brien, F. Doherty, A.M Irish, T. Breathnach, P. Dunphy. Total 19

Votes for Clir. Doran – Clir. P. Millea, A.McGuinness, J. Coonan, S. Treacy, E. Aylward, C. Long. **Total 6**

Cllr. Dunphy received 19 votes
Cllr. Doran received 6 votes

Cllr. Dunphy was elected as Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council for the coming year.

Cllr. Fitzpatrick handed over the chain of office to Cllr. Dunphy and congratulated him on his election.

Cllr. Dunphy thanked his proposer and seconder for their kind words. He thanked Cllr. M. Fitzpatrick for her tremendous work throughout her year as chair. Special thanks were paid to his wife Margaret and children for their continued support throughout the last 15 years as a Councillor. He welcomed all his family to the Council Chamber on this special day.

Cllr. Dunphy hoped that throughout his year as Cathaoirleach to put a special focus on job creation. He will endeavour to meet with the Minister for Enterprise to seek job creation for Kilkenny and the South East. He stated that he will work closely with the IDA and the Agricultural sector also. He welcomed various projects being developed throughout the County such as GAA facility at Dunmore, TSSG in St. Kieran's College and the new library in Ferrybank. He will continue to promote the County during his year as Cathaoirleach.

He offered his condolences to the family of Ken Brennan, following a road traffic accident who was a close friend and neighbour. A minute silence was observed by all attending the meeting.

(ii) Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Cllr. B. Ireland proposed Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach, this was seconded by Cllr. M. Brett.

Cllr. S. Treacy proposed Cllr. J. Coonan for the position of Leas Cathaoirleach, this was seconded by Cllr. C. Long.

Voting for Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh: - Cllrs. M. H. Cavanagh, M. Shortall, J. Brennan, C. Connery, M. Fitzpatrick, M. Brett, D. Fitzgerald, P. Cuddihy, M. Noonan, W. Ireland, T. Maher, P. Crowley, T. Prendergast, J. Moran, M. O' Brien, F. Doherty, A.M Irish, T. Breathnach, P. Dunphy. **Total 19**

Voting for Clir. J. Coonan: - Clir. P. Millea, A.McGuinness, J. Coonan, M. Doran, S. Treacy, E. Aylward, C. Long. **Total 7**

Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh received 19 votes Cllr. J. Coonan received 7 votes

Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh was elected Leas Cathaoirleach of Kilkenny County Council for the coming year.

Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh thanked her proposer and seconder and stated that she is honoured to be elected as Leas Cathaoirleach. She will work closely with the Cathaoirleach for the people of Kilkenny.

Cllr. M. Brett was congratulated by a number of members on his recent election as Mayor of Kilkenny.

Cllr. Doran and Coonan thanked their proposers and seconders and offered support to the Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach for the next 12 months.

Cllr. M. H. Cavanagh, J. Coonan, M. Doran, T. Breathnach, B. Ireland, M. Brett, S. Treacy, C. Long, M. O' Brien paid tribute to the outgoing Cathaoirleach for her work during the previous year. Congratulations were extended to Cllr. Dunphy and all members offered their support for the year.

Mr. Joe Crockett, County Manager on behalf of all the staff offered all our support to Cllr. Dunphy and Cllr. Cavanagh during the next year. He paid tribute to Cllr. Fitzpatrick on her work throughout the year, she was a tremendous advocate for communities. He also congratulated Cllr. M. Brett on being elected Mayor of Kilkenny.

Cllr. P. Dunphy thanked all members for their kind words and he will work with everyone throughout the year.

(iii) **Fix Dates for Ordinary Meetings of Kilkenny County Council**

Cathaoirleach

The following resolution was adopted on the proposal of Cllr. M. Fitzpatrick, seconded by Cllr. S. Treacy and agreed :- "That in addition to the Annual Meeting, Budget Meetings and any additional meetings as may be decided that the Council fix the following schedule of ordinary meetings of the Council for the coming year:-

15 th July, 2013	
16 th September, 2013	
21st October, 2013	
18 th November, 2013	
16th December, 2013	
20 th January, 2014	
17th February, 2014	
18 th March, 2014	
21 st April, 2014	
19 th May, 2014	
16 th June, 2014	
That concluded the business of the meeting.	
	
Signed:	Date: