Management Team

Management Team

The Councils Management structure comprises of Colette Byrne Chief Executive, Martin Prendiville Head of Finance, Tim Butler Director of Services, Mary J Mulholland Director of Services & Mr Sean McKeown, Director of Services.

They are supported in their management roles by a number of Senior Executive Officers, Senior Executive Engineers, & Equivalent Grades of Management Staff.


Directorships and responsibilities with effect from Wednesday, 1st February, 2017.

 NameTitleDepartmentContact Number / Email
Colette Byrne Cheif ExecutiveColette ByrneChief Executive 056 - 7794075
 Sean McKeownDirector of ServicesPlanning, Environment, Building Control, Parks, LEO/Economic Development, Tourism Marketing & Veterinary Services056 - 7794010
Tim ButlerTim ButlerDirector of ServicesCorporate, HR, Roads & Transportation, Water Services, Health & Safety & Communications056 - 7794070
Mary Mulholland Director of ServicesMary J.MulhollandDirector of ServicesHousing, Community, Library, Arts, Heritage & Fire Service056 - 7794900
Martin PrendervilleMartin PrendivilleHead of FinanceFinance, Information Technology, Procurement, Facilities Management, Procurement & Special Projects056 - 7794214



Martin MullallySenior Executive OfficerHousing, Community & Cultural Services056 -
Anne Maria WalshSenior Executive OfficerCorporate056 -
Annette FitzpatrickA/Senior Executive OfficerCommunity056 -
Brian TyrrellSenior Executive OfficerTourism056 -
Michael ArthursSenior Executive OfficerHuman
Kevin HanleyHead of IS and ProcurementInformation Systems and Corporate Procurement056 -
Josephine CoyneCounty
Declan McDonnellFinancial Management AccountantFinance056 -
Margaret NewportSenior Social WorkerHousing056 -



Seamus KavanaghSenior EngineerRoads & Water056 -
Tony LauhoffSenior EngineerFacilities & Special
Michael MurphyA/Senior EngineerProject Manager LIHAF & Associated Projects056 -
Frank StaffordA/Senior
Denis MaloneSenior PlannerPlanning056 -

Related Links:

2008 Managers Report

Emergency Outside Office Hours

If you require the service of the Local Authority for an emergency outside of normal business hours please note the following:

Persons requiring the Fire Service for an emergency should Dial 112 and no other number

For all water related queries 1850 278 278 (Irish Water)

For any other emergency the public are advised to ring 1890 252654

Kilkenny County Council, County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny R95 A39T
Tel: +353 (0) 56 7794000 | Fax: +353 (0) 56 7794004
Email: | Emergency outside office hours: 1890 252 654
Water Queries : 1850 278 278 ( Irish Water )
Privacy | Disclaimer | Cookie Information