## **Comhairle Chontae Chill Chainnigh**

Halla an Chontae, Sráid Eoin, Cill Chainnigh, R95 A39T.

**Kilkenny County Council** 

County Hall, John Street, Kilkenny, R95 A39T.



Fónamh don Phobal - Caomhnu don Oidhreacht

Serving People - Preserving Heritage

## 9th July 2019

## To: An Cathaoirleach and Each Member of Kilkenny County Council

It is a requirement of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended by Section 59 of the Local Government Act 2014, that the Council established an Audit Committee within 3 months of polling day for the newly elected Council.

Article 4 of the Local Government Audit Committee Regulation 2014 sets out the composition of the Committee as follows:

The Audit Committee shall consist of five members and

- shall include not less than three external members,
- not more than two serving or retired elected members and
- two or more persons having knowledge or experience in finance, audit or accounting.

The Audit Committee's role is to support the Council by providing an independent assessment of the activities of management in controlling the Council and the quality of the risk management, financial reporting, financial management and internal audit.

The appointment of three external members was discussed at the Corporate Policy Group and the Corporate Policy Group, having consulted with the Chief Executive, is nominating the following as members of the Audit Committee.

1. Dr. Sean Brady Chairman of Kilkenny County Council Audit Committee

Former Roles: Chief Executive Irish Dairy Board, Managing Director Irish Sugar, Managing Director Greencore Malt, General Manager Lakeland Dairies.

**Current Roles:** Non-Executive Director Animal Health Ireland; Chairman Dairy Expansion Activation Group DAFF; Director Irish National Stud; Chairman Food Harvest 2020 Dept. of Agriculture Food and Fisheries; Member of Council Irish Management Institute.

2. Mr. Joe Allen; Retired Principal Officer Department of Environment, Community & Local Government.

**Previously:** Expertise gained over many years in the formulation, implementation and oversight of local government policy, including the development/introduction of performance indicators for local authorities and their subsequent monitoring. Extensive knowledge of local authority operations. Led the team which supported the Local Government Efficiency Review Group (Report July 2010). Had responsibility for housing finance in the Department, including in relation to both local government and the private sector, which involved the preparation of consumer protection legislation for mortgage borrowers and membership of the Board of the Housing Finance Agency.

More recently was a member of the Local Government Committees on the amalgamation of Tipperary North/South County Councils and Waterford City/County Councils respectively. Mr Allen has been a member of the Kilkenny Audit Committee for the last term of the Council.

## 3. Dr. Maura Joyce.

Former Roles: Audit Senior with Coopers and Lybrand (Kilkenny) specialising in auditing, tax affairs and accounts, Treasurer Kilkenny Arts Week Project Accountant with Avonmore/Glanbia. Company Secretary/Financial Controller of BNS Rural Development from start-up through LEADER 1 and LEADER 2 Programmes. Member of the Evaluation Committee of original Kilkenny County Enterprise Board. Member of Board of SOS Kilkenny Ltd and held position of Honorary Treasurer.

**Current Roles:** Member of Evaluation Committee of the Kilkenny/Carlow and subsequently Kilkenny Leader Partnerships. Member of the Diocese of Ossory Finance Committee. Administrator (voluntary) of Ossory Priests Society looking after the financial needs of sick and retired priests in the Diocese.

Mise, le meas

Im Butte

Tim Butler Director of Services.